Quilting

Just a few things…

Welcome to the very first post in my new blog. I thought I would start by saying hi…hi! I also wanted to show you some of my completed projects. I have had my sewing room packed in storage for the last 9 months so when Tim and I moved back into our own home it was like Christmas for me, opening box after box of crafty delights. I couldn’t wait to get started. However, when I gathered all the UFPs (unfinished projects) together I felt a bit overwhelmed and really didn’t know where to start. I actually couldn’t remember starting some of these projects, so maybe it was the craft elves???

So what I decided to do was spend the year trying to finish as many UFPs as I could. The only new craft projects I could start were craft items that were presents, like the mermaid tail blanket I’m knitting for my niece for her 4th birthday. Shhh! Don’t say a word. I’m not to start any new projects until next year (I really did not think this through when I made this promise to myself. Not start a new project for a whole year!!!). But no I made a promise that I intend to keep.

So I thought I would start this blog off by showing projects I have finished. The photographs details are below each project.

Enjoy!

 

Nick’s Shining Stars – I made this cushion for my Stepdad, Nick when he was being treated for brain cancer. There are sixteen stars on the pillow. Each star represents one of his daughters, his son-in-laws and his eight grandchildren. Mum uses the pillow now which is great. I love seeing my handmade gifts being used. I got the pattern out of the December 2015 Homespun magazine. The designer is Roslyn Russell of Sew Delicious (sewdelicious.com.au).

 

Christmas Quilt – this quilt was finished just before Christmas 2015. It is from a free pattern I got in Spotlight one day. It sits on the lounge all through December when I’m trying to get my Scrooge husband in the festive mood.

 

Floral Grace – I love all the shades of pink in this quilt. This was the first bigger quilt I made. My Stepmum, Sharon from Morning Star Quilting did the edge to edge quilting on this. The pattern was from Deborah Kitching of Quilters Cabin.

Granny Wrap – This would have to be one of my favourite quilts. It sits on the back of my couch in my healing room. I love the subdued colours and the fringing. I did the quilting on this one, which was a mission but I felt a real sense of achievement when it was finished because it was the first quilt I had done where the quilting was more than just in the ditch quilting. The pattern is from Anne Gadsby Designs (annegadsbydesigns.com)

Leave a Reply

