sewing · Stitching

Christmas has come early…

Well, I must say, starting this blog has inspired me to really get going on my UFPs and already I have completed two.

These were some stitchings I did late last year. Because I haven’t had my sewing room for the last 9 months, I took back up stitching, which I haven’t done in years. The stress of dealing with a family member with cancer, was taking its toll on my mental health and I read somewhere that craft was very meditative and soothing and best of all kept you anchored in the present. So, I went out and bought a couple of stitching magazines and got stitching. And I must admit, it was one of the best things I did to deal with what was happening in my family. I could take it into the hospital. It kept my mind busy and stopped me from being melancholy and from thinking about the future without my Stepdad. And it has also now inspired me to start designing my own stitching patterns (more on that later).

So these two stitchings are for Christmas and I wanted to make them into cushions. The first one was a pattern I got out of the magazine, ‘The World of Cross Stitch’. It was a design by Jenny Van De Wiele. I picked it because it was a Christmas wreath in the shape of a heart and it had some bling on it in the shape of little gold beads.

The second design was from a magazine insert which, for the life of me, I can’t find so I am unable to give you the designers name. I think it came out of the magazine, ‘Cross Stitcher’. It is a picture of some Victorian terrace houses decorated for Christmas. I loved the simplicity of it and how the splashes of red really brought the design to life.

So now they are finished and ready to bring some Christmas cheer to our first Christmas without my Stepdad.

I hope you like them.

IMG_0657

IMG_0667

Leave a Reply

