Quilting · sewing

Pink & Green Should Always Be Seen.

IMG_0747

One of my favourite colour combinations in quilts is pink and green. I always come back to this when I can’t decide on a colour scheme. Two out of the three unfinished quilts I have are in this colour combination. This one is called ‘Happy Days’ by Mums Moments. I love the retro feel to it. Those were the days when body shapes were real and luscious!

I was trying to finish my crocheted rug but it just wasn’t rocking my boat so I decided it was time to tackle one of the quilts. This one is mainly appliqué and looking at some of the blocks I completed when I started it, the stitching is pretty dismal. My first thought was to unpick it all and start again, but then I thought, this is part of my quilting journey and it should stay as it is. And also if I started to unpick it, I can safely say that the quilt would end up back in the unfinished projects box. I feel that once it is finished, the joy I get from having finished it, will far outweigh the feelings I’m having at the moment of disappointment that it’s not perfect.

IMG_0745

I find that often I put too much pressure on myself to have everything perfect and that can really ruin the enjoyment of doing the project. I’ve gotten better as I get older at letting things not be perfect and what I’ve found is that people still love my work and I’m enjoying the whole process a lot more. And let’s face it, at the end of the day that’s the whole point of doing this…to enjoy it!

Until next time…happy creating!

Leave a Reply

