Quilting · sewing · Stitching

Busy doing nothing!

I have been very busy over the last week and a bit but not very productive. And that’s okay. Sometimes life takes you on these journeys where you don’t feel like you’ve achieved much but really things have been happening under the surface and you’ve had time to refresh and revive.

My Mum and her best friend Michele came to stay the weekend and
Michele had a great time going through my sewing room and reading all my stitching and quilting mags and books. We shopped, we drank and we ate (very yummy cake and my delicious home cooked spaghetti bolognese), and we laughed a lot. I mean a lot. We went to the Stiched & Bound Exhibition at the Zig Zag Gallery on the Saturday morning. It is held by the WA Quilter’s Association and the displays were great. There are some very creative people out there. It’s only a small exhibition but I highly recommend seeing it if you like artisan quilts/crafts. It’s on until the 30th of July.

IMG_0753

It actually made me feel inspired to get down and do some more of my unfinished quilt. I’ve been working on that in the mornings before work and sometimes in the evenings and I’ve also been working on a cross stitch as well. I’m enjoying my hand stitching immensely and I must say that I feel like I’m getting better all the time.

On Sunday we went to the Grand Opening of Southlands Fabric & Sewing Centre. They moved across the road in Yampi Way Willeton to a much bigger premises and it looked great! Their staff are so friendly and welcoming. My darling Mum and Hubble patiently waited whilst Michelle & I had a good look around. Luckily they had morning tea on. That kept them amused for a while at least. You really must check out their new store. You won’t be disappointed.

We’ve had some pretty miserable weather, perfect for hibernating away at home and doing stitching in front of the fire. Unfortunately I don’t really have much to show you for this week. Although I did manage to finish my hot water bottle cover. The ribbon goes over the shoulders of the bottle to keep it in the cover. I love it. Got to use up some of my scraps and the pink ribbon I’ve been holding onto forever.

Stay safe if you’re in a rainy part of the country.

Until next time…happy creating!

IMG_0783

Leave a Reply

